Where has the time gone?

The last time I wrote I was still in New Zealand. It already feels like a lifetime ago!

Let me start with Reganne’s wedding.

The week leading up to her big day was filled with lots of wedding stuff. Decisions about makeup, pantyhose, wedding night lingerie. Playlists, slideshows, video stuff. Plus sleeping and driving arrangements for all of Reganne’s Canadian family and friends. It made for an organized chaos filled with warmth and happiness and only the occasional meltdown.

As far as brides go, Reganne was pretty chill. It was the first time I saw this normally mellow girl freak out even the littlest bit, but for the most part she took everything in stride.

The wedding day itself was perfect. Reganne and Matt looked so happy together, and all their plans and hard work came together beautifully. The sun was shining, people were smiling, and after a quick downpour the couple even got a rainbow for pictures.

The entire day was filled with so much love and well wishes for the newlyweds. Everyone has known Matt and Reganne together as a couple for so long; it just seemed like such a natural next step for them in their lives.

Anyway, enough of the mushy stuff.

Back in Sydney…

I stayed with a colleague for a week and put in some crazy hours getting caught up at the office.

The following week I moved into a hostel in the city (aka downtown) for my last couple of weeks in Sydney.

I also joined a gym called the V Club for a month, and I’ve been working out almost every day in an effort to shed some of the kilos I put on from doing nothing but beer drinking and office sitting for the last few months. I even tried out a Zumba class, the latest fitness fad, despite my decided lack of rhythm and coordination. Turns out it’s a pretty good workout and actually a lot of fun once you get into it. I can see why my cousin Mike keeps going back for more!

Next week is my last at Commonwealth Bank, and though I will be sad to walk away from the good friends and colleagues I’ve made, I’m excited about the next part of this adventure I’m on.

I was going to go straight up to Cairns to chill out there, where the weather is warm and sunny, but it look like I’ll probably end up staying in Sydney for a couple more weeks to take care of a few things and close off any loose ends before I turn into a nomad for the next five months.

Yep, that’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

