En route to WA

from July 12

This morning I went to the Central Markets in Adelaide to get a cup of coffee and breakfast (a very unhealthy, sugary muffin) and was surprised how different my impression was than the last time I was there in 2008. Then, I was amazed that this is how people would shop for groceries. Now, shopping at a market instead of the grocery store doesn’t seem so unusual. It’s amazing how living in a different country changes your perception of things, without you even realizing it.

I didn’t see a lot of the city, just a few parks and architecturally interesting buildings as we drove into the CBD, but it seems like the kind of place I wouldn’t mind living. It’s a city, true, but not nearly the size of Sydney, perhaps just a bit bigger than Edmonton.

As I write this I am in the airport waiting to board my flight with Jetstar to Perth. I’m not quite sure what the game plan will be when I get there. I’m staying at the YHA tonight, and that’s as far as I’ve got.

There is a screaming baby behind me and I really hope it’s not on my flight, but I suspect it will be. There is always one.

Leave a Reply

