Perth: a Western version of Sydney

from 14 July

I slept in late today, and though it felt good, I am surprised that I don’t want to do the same tomorrow.

The YHA where I am staying is fantastic. They upgraded me to a three share room with an en suite, and for the most part I’ve had the room to myself. I’m right next to the train tracks but the noise doesn’t seem to bother me.

After checking in I headed down to the Apple store to get my laptop fixed (the power cord shorted out – again), and then changed into my pajamas while I did laundry. It was a bit embarrassing not to have any clothes to wear when I did my washing, but at $5 a load I wasn’t keen to do more than necessary.

Yesterday morning I got up early and went for waffles while I worked on my blog. The cafe had smelled amazing the day before, but unfortunately the actual food didn’t measure up. After that I walked down to the esplanade and enjoyed the sun for a bit. When the clouds took over I wandered through Murray Street Mall, which reminded me a lot of Sydney’s Pitt Street Mall, but with fewer people.

I’m fighting off a bit of a cold, so last night I took some echinacea. cold and flu tablets, and sore throat lozenges, and hopped into bed to watch some TV. It was the first time I’ve watched a full TV program since…well, since I moved out of my flat in April, I think. It was an interior decorating show, which I love, but I was bored out of my mind.

Today I walked over to the Northbridge district, having heard lots of hype about it. It was essentially Whyte Ave and China town combined. Aside from a good cup of coffee, I didn’t find much of interest.

This afternoon I feel as though i should do something touristy, and take advantage of the sunshine, but all I really want to do is see the new Harry Potter movie. That’s not very worldly of me, now is it?

So far what I’ve observed is that all cities seem to be the same, save a few interesting pieces of architecture or tourist attractions. They all have boutique shopping, some lovely green space, a museum, a heritage district, botanical gardens, war memorials, government houses, etc. And I’m really not interested in any of that. While it’s fine to wander around an observe those things, it’s not like I’ve been eagerly waiting to see them.

What I really want to do is a tour of Margaret river, but I also really don’t want to shell out the cash for it. I know I can afford it, but my gut feels a bit sick every time I spend money. I haven’t had any income since the beginning of June, and I don’t have any work lined up, guaranteed, for when I’m done traveling. It’s a fine line between trusting everything will all work out and having to pick and choose what experiences I can afford.

Leave a Reply

