Broome: surprisingly good shopping

Broome

from 28 July

Today was perfect in every way. I woke up at 9 a.m. and wandered into Broome town by 10 for a good cup of coffee and a peak into some of the shops. While I was waiting at the bus stop, I saw a camel train walking by, and all I could do was shake my head. Nowhere else would I have expected to see that sight, but here it seemed perfectly commonplace.

On a whim I picked up a few post cards and sent them home. I found the most delightful items in the shops and spent the better part of the morning and afternoon deciding what delicate artifacts I wanted to bring back to Canada to commemorate the trip. With seashells, wood, and pearls in hand, I stopped off at the hostel briefly and then spent the rest of the afternoon lounging on Cable Beach. Now the sun is setting, and I continue to be amazed at the beauty of Western Australia. My life is nothing short of spectacular.

Leave a Reply

