Australian adventures coming to an end

I’m not coming home yet, but it is time for me to leave Australia. My visa expires in a few weeks, so I’ve begun looking ahead to the next few months. And to be honest, I’m looking forward to it. My time in Cairns wasn’t what I had hoped it would be, so the change will do me good.

My job at the travel agency lasted less than a month when I decided it wasn’t worth the stress of having a @#$% boss and quit. I can put up with a lot, but being accused of stealing from him was too much of an insult to my integrity to stay.

Instead I found a job at a jewelry kiosk in the Cairns Central Mall, but the hours have been really irregular, so though I’ve been able to get by, I’ve been a bit bored with nothing productive to do on the days when I don’t work.

To keep myself busy, I’ve been hanging out at my friend’s place at one of the northern beaches about 20 minutes away, and Nataleigh and I have spent a few nights out or lounging by the lagoon during the day. Nataleigh has become one of my best friends since I’ve been in Australia, and I’m going to miss her terribly when I leave. I also managed to meet up with a friend who I met in Western Australia, and it was a lot of fun to compare travel stories from the last time we’d seen each other.

So, I’m set to leave for New Zealand shortly, and I’m looking forward to the change. I don’t have any definitive plans for my time in NZ just yet, but I’ll be arriving in Wellington and meeting up with a couple of people on the north island before travelling down south at some point.

Leave a Reply

